Hey, remember that distressed squirrel under the bathtub?

He’s feeling better.

He came out the access hatch, I guess, and trapped himself in the bathroom when he heard me coming. His only way out was the door — and no guarantee he’d go back in the walls when he’d have the run of the whole house– and the window at the far end, to which he was clinging, growling gently.

Shit.

I opened the door and tried to use my bathrobe to steer him back the way he’d come, but he was having none of that. I was afraid if I got in the room with him, he’d make a leap for my head and Very Bad Things would ensue. Don’t laugh. I raised a passle of these buggers, they tend to nominate the tallest thing in the room as an honorary tree and then immediately climb it. I’ve never had the rabies series, and I like it that way (though apparently it’s not that ghastly in-the-stomach thing any more).

Neither of us was getting less panicky, so I finally got in the room with him, headed for the window, fumbled with it and tried to ignore the banging and crashing behind me. When I got it opened and turned, he was crouched on the sink (you know, I ask a lot of my tooth brush). He made one heroic flying leap past me and onto the sill and shot straight into outer space. I mean, sailed over the roof without touching and right down into the back yard.

We’re up on the second floor, so I went outside and make sure he hadn’t stunned himself unconscious when he landed. All I needed was a cat bringing him back in. (The cats? Useless. They probably spent the whole day with him up here).

First man jack of yez to make fun of my lacy bathroom curtains gets a disemboweling. Gratis.

6 Comments

  1. Posted February 5, 2007 at 10:43 pm | Permalink

    Now you can add “Squirrel Wrangler” to your description. Seriously though – it sounds like you need to do something to seal up some of these access points no?

  2. Posted February 6, 2007 at 6:32 am | Permalink

    I know. Their entrance hole is an awkward spot to reach. I thought the roofers would do it when they put the gutters on — sealing that hole was one of my main motivations in having the job done — but no, they carefully worked around it. I usually bail the rats out before Winter comes, but some damn fool stole my squirrel trap.

    Spring is awkward: you acccidentaly bail out Mom, and you get to raise the babies yourself. Been there. And this is too urban a neighborhood to shoot them, even if I had the heart to do it. Also, they bleed copiously.

    So! Coexistence until Summer it is!

  3. whitishrabbit
    Posted February 7, 2007 at 3:38 pm | Permalink

    Your posts always make me laugh.

  4. Posted February 8, 2007 at 12:47 am | Permalink

    Should have shot the nut rat with a wadcutter.

  5. Sarah D.
    Posted February 13, 2007 at 12:11 am | Permalink

    Oooooh! Cute curtains! Linky?

    /heh

  6. steve
    Posted March 11, 2007 at 10:08 pm | Permalink

    I typed in “passle of weasels” on Google, hit the Feeling Lucky tab, and came here! What are the odds on that?
    So, glad you are …..what? taking good care of your weasel? In the 50’s you would probably get your ass knocked up around your ears and be given another set of shoulders if you said that to someone.
    Where was I? Weasel. Nasty looking things. We had mongoose in Hawaii. Poor man’s weener rat.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*