Oh ye of little faith

My new spokesweasel, in progress. Cute as a button, inne?

This is for NBPundit of Gulf Coast Pundit, who apparently doesn’t believe I’m actually working on building sweasel.com. Hey, do you think it’s easy to steal someone else’s code and disembowel it? Do you? No. Theft is hard. It’s a lot harder than sitting around doing nothing, which is my strong suit.

I’m also reluctant to unplug myself from the WordPress fambly too hastily. Seems to me, once it got spidered in, this site zoomed up the Google ladder faster than other web sites I’ve built. And I like the tagsurfing thing — you know, clicking on a post category shows other WordPress blogs talking about the same thing, rather than going to an archive of this blog. That’s probably a php switch I can change (yeah, see…php. I’m having to learn new stuff, too).

I suspect you can host off-site and still participate as a WordPress blog, I just don’t know how to do it. There’s almost too much documentation on WordPress — on my way to find answers, I get distracted by the shiny things and the buzzy noises.

4 Comments

  1. nbpundit
    Posted February 5, 2007 at 1:55 pm | Permalink

    Awwww…thanks Stoat!
    /fifteen nanseconds of fame.

  2. nbpundit
    Posted February 5, 2007 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

    ByTheWay:
    You should put a leather tool belt on
    SWeasel, so he can carry his wrench. :)

  3. Posted February 6, 2007 at 12:52 am | Permalink

    Once you click on a post to view the comments your post goes beyond the margins in Internet Explorer at least. I think you should check that out.
    Also about that hosting question, if you ask at the WordPress Forum you will get a prompt answer.

  4. Posted February 6, 2007 at 6:21 am | Permalink

    Thanks, Nita. Yeah, I know about that IE comment weirdness. Since I grabbed someone else’s theme (as usual) and edited it, I have no idea how that ‘feature’ crept in. I’m working from a completely different theme this time, so I’m sure I’ll make all new bugs.

    I’ll ask my questions on the forums eventually. My experience of other forums is that I get my question answered, along with a “Duh! That’s the first question in the FAQ!” So I try to investigate as thoroughly as I can before I ask.

    I still get the “Duh!” treatment, but I feel more justified in finding it irritating.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

