Who are you people?

I haven’t even posted anything in a couple of days, and inexplicably I’m having my highest traffic day ever. No unusual incoming links, two paltry Google search terms and I’ve more than doubled on yesterday. Who are you and where are you coming from?

Is it because I’m not posting? Is that it? Does it count as a separate hit if you guys keep punching refresh? Are you betting I’ll have just enough juice before I croak to lean over and post ‘WAAAAAAUUUUUUGH!”…?

Oh, hey! Segue! I drew this at lunch. I was thinking about using it for a “Technical Difficulties — Please Stand By” graphic. But I keep toning it down and toning it down and it still doesn’t say “funny” as much as “creepy dead animal.”

deadweasel.gif

Yeah, I know what you’re thinking, but it’s not the tongue. It was even worse without the tongue. The tongue is, at least, a nod to a classic comic gag.

It’ll be better with type.

There! I’ve fed you! Shoo!

12 Comments

  1. Posted January 31, 2007 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

    It also says “Iraq” – oil gushing out the end of the tail, overfed at one end, suffocated at the other.

  2. Posted January 31, 2007 at 7:52 pm | Permalink

    MmmmMMmmm! Oil!

  3. Posted January 31, 2007 at 8:16 pm | Permalink

    I’m just here for the Lurpak. Cough it up, damn you!

  4. AmesJay
    Posted January 31, 2007 at 8:28 pm | Permalink

    I just come around because you can spell segue.

    Literacy, it’s what’s for lunch.

    Or not.

  5. Enas Yorl
    Posted January 31, 2007 at 9:44 pm | Permalink

    Sorry, it’s probably me. I was going through your archives and reading all your past posts last night which would have been your tommorrow and is now today. So there ya go. Nothing weird here, except some guy obsessively reading everything you’ve written here so far.

    Oh, and I hit your site several times today hoping for a new weasel nugget. You were about due.

  6. Enas Yorl
    Posted January 31, 2007 at 9:46 pm | Permalink

    Oh, love the new weasel graphic btw!

  7. Posted February 1, 2007 at 1:15 am | Permalink

    I did it again tonight to finish everything up – even the stuff I’ve already read just to put everything in context (particularly with the comments).

    Nice site. Keep up the good work.

  8. Posted February 1, 2007 at 6:22 am | Permalink

    It’s not just you, Enas (I always think, “rhymes with ‘penis'”). Bunch of hits on old stuff, but no tell-tale incoming link in the stats. It’s one of life’s little mysteries.

    If I’d known y’all were coming, I’d’ve baked a cake. Or at least put on some pants.

  9. Posted February 1, 2007 at 8:32 am | Permalink

    Wait a second…does comment spam count as hits? I’ve been getting a big uptick in that lately.

  10. Posted February 1, 2007 at 12:33 pm | Permalink

    Have you tried “X”‘s for eyes? That always kills.

    *snicker*

    “Weasel nugget”

  11. nbpundit
    Posted February 4, 2007 at 8:54 pm | Permalink

    Is the new site going to grow long hair and
    the wrench rust before you finish it?
    /gathering dust and rust.

  12. Posted February 5, 2007 at 5:10 am | Permalink

    NB: yes! I’m slow and lazy. I did actually work on it over the weekend, but I’m building it locally on my hard drive before moving it over, so progress is invisible. I’ve never worked with php before…I’m on the steep end of the learning curve.

    I also haven’t worked out stuff like how you communicate back to WordPress. I like being part of the reciprocal tag-surfing, for example.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

