I shall call him…Adolph

They’ve changed the body design of the Miata twice. Once in, like, 2000 and again last year, I think. All upright, decent citizens prefer the original design. It had a round, cheery shape, with a toothless smile, squinty running lights and googly pop-up headlamps. It was a happy, goofy car. Anime on wheels. Kind of a Sailor Moon thing.

I just bought the second generation, and what a difference! Subtle, yet…not really subtle at all. Less round, more slanty. The fenders flare out, the smile is wider and more pointy, the headlamps are almond shaped and tilted. It still looks happy, but in a Satan-y sort of way.

And mine, saints preserve us, has a license plate holder stuck over the grill, making it look just like ol’ Godwin-bane hisself.

I love the way it drives, and I guess I like the way it looks. I guess. It’s very black. And shiny.

I volunteered to do an errand today (because NEW CAR! Duh). I drove the whole way listening to Best of Black Sabbath Volume I. And I didn’t really want to. I’m worried that it’s going to start pegging the blue-hairs lining up for the Early Bird Special next door. It looks…thirsty.

Maybe when there’s a license plate on the front, it’ll stop channeling der Führer.

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 26, 2007 at 7:27 pm | Permalink

    Admit it now, you were singing along to Sweetleaf

  2. Posted January 28, 2007 at 6:21 pm | Permalink

    I love it. “Anime on wheels.” snicker laugh giggle chortle {{choke on something til my face turns red, etc.}}

  3. Posted January 31, 2007 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

    Buddy of mine hit a deer in his Miata. Granted, one of those scrawny Texas white-tails, but still, he’s lucky it didn’t take his head off.

    Bout 5k in damage

  4. Posted January 31, 2007 at 6:08 pm | Permalink

    Guy at work got rearended in one, and the Miata actually fared better than the other car. They’re sturdier than you’d think. But, no, I wouldn’t fancy hitting anything above the bodyline.

    I ran over a chipmunk in mine. Boy, I felt like shit about it, too. You know how the little bastards are always skittering across the road? Not this boy. He was sitting up on his haunches eating something or washing his face or generally being cute as a button. And I was all, like, “oh, look! It’s an adorable little…”ba-BUMP.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

